International Maritime Organization

Imo Oraganizational Structure

The role and responsibilities of the IMO Executive Council

The Council is the executive organ of IMO and is responsible, under the Assembly, for supervising the work of the Organization. The Council is made up of 40 Member States, elected by the Assembly for two-year terms.

UAE Significant Maritime Initiatives

The UAE’s Role in Supporting Sustainability in the Maritime Sector in the International Maritime Organization

Seafarers Support

Seafarers Support

Caring for seafarers working onboard ships is the mainstay in the maritime transport industry, and in light of the Covid-19 pandemic, the UAE has taken the initiative to classify seafarers as “priority workers” because they have been on the front line since the onset of the pandemic, providing critical services despite challenging circumstances. The Member State has also enabled them to return to their Member States.

COVID Vaccination

COVID Vaccination

Vaccines against COVID-19 have been provided free of charge to all key workers, including seafarers and port employees working in the Member State's waters. In addition, all ports in the Member State are working round the clock to efficiently provide services to maintain uninterrupted flow of trade. The Member State provided all the necessary support to facilitate safe and secure crew changes.

Emission reduction

Emission reduction

The UAE has contributed to the implementation of the International Maritime Organization's initial strategy on reducing greenhouse gas emissions from ships and will continue to support the development of the follow-up action plan and Fourth Greenhouse Gas Study 2020.

Maritime Education Support

Maritime Education Support

The UAE is considered one of the first contributors to the efforts of the International Maritime Organization to establish the World Maritime University in Malmö, Sweden, since its establishment in 1983, through its active membership in the Board of Governors and the Executive Committee, between 1983 and 1991. This is in addition to the Member State’s participation in many national and international forums, which aim to transfer and exchange experiences in the field of maritime education and training.

As part of the UAE’s interest in the field of maritime training, the Member State established in Khorfakkan in the Emirate of Sharjah a branch of the Arab Academy for Science, Technology and Maritime Transport, Sharjah branch, one of the academies of the League of the Arab States, which is headquartered in Alexandria, Egypt. The state has also established the Abu Dhabi Maritime Academy in the capital Abu Dhabi.

Maritime Education Support

Empowering Women in the Maritime Sector

Empowering women to work in the maritime sector

Empowering women in the maritime sector

The UAE is considered as one of the leading Member States in supporting and empowering women in all fields, including the maritime sector, as it contributed to the preparation of the IMO’s Assembly Resolution No. A.1147 (31) titled “Preserving the legacy of the global maritime logo for the year 2019 and achieving a barrier-free work environment for women in the maritime sector”. It was adopted at the 31st session of the Assembly held at the end of 2019.

Gender Equality

Supporting Gender Equality

The UAE is among the founders of the IMOGENder, a network for IMO delegates seeking to achieve gender equality. The network constitutes a forum for delegates of member states and observer delegations to the IMO, to work in a coordinated manner and exchange information, ideas and best practices aimed at achieving gender equality and enhancing the participation of women in the maritime sector.

League of Arab Women in the Maritime Sector

Arab Women in Maritime Association

The UAE is currently chairing the Arab Women’s Association in the Maritime Sector (AWIMA), in cooperation with the International Maritime Organization’s Technical Cooperation Programme (ITCP) in supporting women in the maritime sector, to achieve the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. In particular, the fifth goal on achieving gender equality.

Commitment to international agreements

Supporting the IMO in achieving its strategic vision and directions

Supporting the IMO in achieving its strategic vision and directions

The UAE is committed to its responsibility of participating in establishing a sustainable platform for exchanging knowledge between member states with maritime administrations on best practices, providing added value to the technical and legal discussions held at the International Maritime Organization. It has contributed to proposals aimed at strengthening safety and maritime security regulations and preserving the marine environment.

The Member State sought to amend Article (81) of the IMO Convention, which previously included the use of only Spanish, English and French within the organisation. The UAE has proposed adding Arabic, Chinese and Russian Federation as equally authentic languages, and these amendments will require several years to be implemented.

Supporting the IMO in achieving its strategic vision and directions
Supporting the IMO in achieving its strategic vision and directions

The UAE contributed to amending the IMO agreement by submitting a proposal to increase the members of the organisation’s council to consist of 52 members instead of 40 members, to be included under three categories: Category A and Category B, which include 12 members and Category C, which includes 28 members, in addition to the proposal to increase the term of office of the Council for four years and increasing the quorum to become 34 members

Last update on July 2021

Your Bookmarks
View full site
Top

المنظمة البحرية الدولية

الهيكل التنظيمي للمنظمة البحرية الدولية الهيكل التنظيمي للمنظمة البحرية الدولية

تعريف بدور مجلس المنظمة

المجلس هو الجهاز التنفيذي للمنظمة البحرية الدولية وهو مسؤول ، تحت إشراف الجمعية ، عن الإشراف على عمل المنظمة. يتألف المجلس من 40 دولة عضوا ، تنتخبهم الجمعية لمدة عامين.

أبرز مبادرات دعم القطاع البحري في دولة الإمارات

دور الإمارات في دعم الاستدامة في القطاع البحري في المنظمة البحرية الدولية

الاهتمام بالبحارة

الاهتمام بالبحارة

يعتبر الاهتمام بالبحارة العاملين على متن السفن الركيزة الأساس في صناعة النقل البحري، وفي ظل جائحة كوفيد-19، بادرت دولة الإمارات بتصنيف البحارة على أنهم "عمال من ذوي الأولوية" لأنهم متواجدين على خط مواجهة الوباء، ويقدمون خدمة رئيسة في مثل هذه الظروف، ويجب العمل على تمكينهم من العودة إلى بلدانهم، وكذلك تسهيل التحاقهم بالسفن المتواجدة في مياه الدولة.

التطعيم ضد كوفيد

التطعيم ضد كوفيد

تم توفير لقاحات ضد فيروس كوفيد-19 وبشكل مجاني لجميع العمال الرئيسيين، بما في ذلك البحارة وموظفي الموانئ الذين يعملون في مياه الدولة. علاوة على فتح جميع الموانئ في الدولة على مدار الساعة لتقديم خدماتها بشكل كامل للحفاظ على تدفق حركة التجارة. وقدمت الدولة كل التسهيلات اللازمة في عمليات تبديل وتغيير الأطقم البحرية وبشكل آمن مع توفير الرعاية الطبية.

الحد من الانبعاثات

الحد من الانبعاثات

ساهمت دولة الإمارات في تنفيذ الاستراتيجية الأولية للمنظمة البحرية الدولية بشأن الحد من انبعاثات الغازات المسببة للاحتباس الحراري من السفن، وستواصل دعمها لتطوير خطة إجراءات المتابعة والدراسة الرابعة للمنظمة البحرية الدولية بشأن الغازات الدفيئة.

دعم التعليم البحري دوليًا ووطنيا

دعم التعليم البحري دوليًا ووطنيا

تعتبر دولة الإمارات من أول المساهمين في جهود المنظمة البحرية الدولية لإنشاء الجامعة البحرية العالمية في مالمو بالسويد، منذ إنشائها في عام 1983، وذلك من خلال عضويتها النشطة في مجلس المحافظين واللجنة التنفيذية، بين عامي 1983 و 1991. بالإضافة مشاركة الدولة في العديد من المنتديات الوطنية والدولية التي تهدف إلى نقل وتبادل الخبرات في مجال التعليم والتدريب البحري.

ضمن اهتمام دولة الإمارات في مجال التدريب البحري، أسست الدولة في خورفكان في إمارة الشارقة فرعًا للأكاديمية العربية للعلوم والتكنولوجيا والنقل البحري فرع الشارقة، إحدى الأكاديميات التابعة لجامعة الدول العربية، والتي يقع مقرها الرئيس في مدينة الإسكندرية في جمهورية مصر العربية، كما قامت الدولة بتأسيس أكاديمية أبوظبي البحرية في العاصمة أبوظبي.

دعم التعليم البحري دوليًا ووطنيا

تمكين المرأة في القطاع البحري

تمكين المرأة من العمل في القطاع البحري

تمكين المرأة من العمل في القطاع البحري

تعتبر دولة الإمارات من الدول الرائدة في دعم وتمكين المرأة في جميع المجالات، لا سيما القطاع البحري، حيث أسهمت في إعداد قرار جمعية المنظمة رقم A.1147(31) بعنوان "الحفاظ على إرث الشعار البحري العالمي لعام 2019 وتحقيق بيئة عمل خالية من العوائق للنساء في القطاع البحري". والذي اعتُمد في اجتماع الجمعية بدورتها الحادية والثلاثين في نهاية عام 2019.

المساواة بين الجنسين

المساواة بين الجنسين

تعدّ دولة الإمارات من المؤسسين لشبكة تواصل المنظمة البحرية الدولية للمساواة بين الجنسين IMOGENder، والتي تشكل منتدى لمندوبي الدول الأعضاء والوفود المراقبة لدى المنظمة البحرية الدولية، للعمل بطريقة منسقة لتبادل المعلومات وتبادل الأفكار وأفضل الممارسات التي تهدف إلى تحقيق المساواة بين الجنسين وتعزيز مشاركة النساء في القطاع البحري.

رابطة المرأة العربية في القطاع البحري

رابطة المرأة العربية في القطاع البحري

تتولى دولة الإمارات حاليًا رئاسة رابطة المرأة العربية فى القطاع البحري AWIMA، بالتعاون مع برنامج التعاون الفني للمنظمة البحرية الدولية في دعم المرأة في القطاع البحري، لتحقيق أهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة؛ وبالأخص الهدف الخامس المعني بتحقيق المساواة بين الجنسين.

الالتزام بالاتفاقات الدولية

دعم أداء المنظمة البحرية الدولية وتطوير لوائحها التنظيمية

دعم أداء المنظمة البحرية الدولية وتطوير لوائحها التنظيمية

تلتزم دولة الإمارات بمسؤوليتها تجاه المشاركة في تأسيس منصة مستدامة لتبادل المعرفة بين الدول الأعضاء مع الإدارات البحرية حول أفضل الممارسات، وتوفير القيمة المضافة للمناقشات الفنية والقانونية التي تعقد في المنظمة البحرية الدولية؛ حيث أسهمت في المقترحات التي تهدف إلى تعزيز لوائح السلامة والأمن البحري والمحافظة على البيئة البحرية.

سعت الدولة إلى تعديل المادة (81) من اتفاقية المنظمة البحرية الدولية، والتي شملت سابقا استخدام اللغات الإسبانية والإنكليزية والفرنسية فقط داخل المنظمة؛ حيث اقترحت دولة الإمارات إضافة كل من اللغة العربية والصينية والروسية كلغات تتساوى في الحجية، وستتطلب هذه التعديلات عدة سنوات لتدخل حيز التنفيذ.

دعم أداء المنظمة البحرية الدولية وتطوير لوائحها التنظيمية
دعم أداء المنظمة البحرية الدولية وتطوير لوائحها التنظيمية

أسهمت دولة الإمارات في تعديل اتفاقية المنظمة البحرية الدولية من خلال تقديم مقترح لزيادة أعضاء مجلس المنظمة ليتألف من 52 عضوًا بدلًا من 40 عضوًا، ليتم إدراجهم تحت ثلاث فئات هي: الفئة A وتضم 12 عضوًا، والفئة B وتضم 12 عضوًا كذلك، والفئة C وتضم 28 عضوًا، إضافة إلى اقتراح زيادة مدة عمل المجلس لأربع سنوات، علاوة على زيادة النصاب ليصبح 34 عضوًا

أخر تحديث في يوليو 2021

الموقع الرئيسي
الأعلى